Our Mission

To explore, develop, and test alternative approaches of quality assurance that respond to the changing landscape of higher and postsecondary education and will serve the needs of learners, employers, and the larger society.

Our Origin Story

Here’s what we’ve accomplished so far—and there’s more to come in the future.


Convened national leaders (funded by a USA Funds—now Strada—grant). Unanimously decide that new models focusing on career readiness are vital.


Research begins on bridging the gap between Higher Ed and the workplace. Awarded a Lumina Foundation grant.


Co-design EEQs & the EEQ Cert process with 27 programs from 14 institutions serving over 35,000 students.


Successfully conclude Pilot Program. Awarded Lumina Foundation continuation grant. Launch Kentucky EEQ Certification Initiative.


Form Stakeholder Advisory Committee with employers and provosts in KY to link employer needs with certification process. Build new prototypes & launch Faculty Fellows programs.

Need access? Please email info@theqacommons.org

The QA Commons Staff

The QA Commons Staff, our NCHEMS partners, and our robust Advisory Board and Stakeholder Advisory Board members comprise our entire team.

Ralph Wolff
President & Founder


“For the rapidly changing jobs of today and tomorrow, “soft skills” are no longer just something to pick up “somewhere.” Technology, offshoring, and roboticization are but a few of the challenges graduates will face, and skills such as collaboration, adaptability, and continuous learning have become essential for ongoing employability. We need to integrate essential employability qualities with academic content and theory to prepare graduates for meaningful careers. That’s why we created The Quality Assurance Commons.”

— Ralph Wolff

Michelle Deasy
Director of Operations & Planning; NCHEMS Liaison
Laleh Kazemi
Executive Assistant
Bill Plater
Senior Scholar
Gregory Rush
Senior Scholar
Denise DeZolt
Senior Advisor, EEQ Certification
Gary Burkholder
Senior Advisor, Research & Evaluation
Brad Clark
Senior Advisor, Employer Engagement
Janna Vice
Director, Kentucky Faculty Employability Fellows


Stakeholder Advisory Committee

A group of employers and provosts has convened in Kentucky to link employer needs with the certification process for the participating postsecondary programs in the state.

Beth Davisson

Executive Director, Workforce Center Kentucky Chamber of Commerce

Angie Mannino

Chief People an Culture Officer, Baptist Health System

Kim Menke

Manager, Community & Government Relations, Toyota Motor Engineering

Pat Murphy

Workforce Development Manager, UPS

Kevin Smith

VP, Kentucky Beam Bourbon Affairs, Beam Suntory

Jeff Whitehead

Executive Director, Eastern Kentucky CEP, Inc.

Thank You!

We appreciate you contacting us. One of our colleagues will get back to you shortly.